I could complain

Today as I wandered around my vegetable garden I noticed that my zucchini stems were starting to rot, the green beans were extremely scarce and the tomatoes weren’t growing. I started complaining in my heart about how I really wanted the vegetables to fill my freezer and save us money this winter. Then I was reminded of all the zucchini, green beans and green peppers I had just this morning vacuum sealed and tucked away for just such an occasion, and this occurred to me.

I could complain about my garden not producing like I’d like,
Or I could be grateful that it’s produced at all.
I could complain about the heat index in July,
Or I could be grateful for my air conditioned escape.
I could complain about my 5 year old’s second ear infection this summer,
Or I could be grateful we live in 2011 where there are medicines and she can keep her hearing.
I could complain about my husband’s new shift,
Or I could be grateful he has a job.
I could complain that my grass is all brown,
Or I could be grateful I have a yard.
I could complain that we have no money in the bank,
Or I could be grateful for ways God has provided.
I could complain that my house is a mess after I cleaned it yesterday,
Or I could be grateful that God has given me two little mess makers.
I could complain that my body does not want to let go of fat cells,
Or I could be grateful that I have food in my fridge and dinner on the table.
I could complain that I’m tired all the time,
Or I could be grateful God has given me a life to experience and the capability to experience.
I could complain about the amount of laundry there is to do,
Or I could be grateful that God has blessed us with plenty.
I’ve learned, it’s all a matter of perspective.
What about you, are you complaining or grateful today?
1 Thessalonians 5:18 No matter what happens, always be thankful, for this is God’s will for you who belong to Christ Jesus.

Published by amysblahblahblog

Follower of Jesus Christ. Wife for Life. Mom to 2 girls. Homeschooler. Missions Minded. Book reader. Traveller. Mountain Loving. Tea drinker.

Leave a comment