Whatever

As the days draw closer to my peanut turning 5, she is getting more questions concerning what she would like for her 5th birthday. I started giving the old stand-bys, Barbies, doll clothes, books, movies…the normal response you’d get.
After one of these calls for ideas though I decided to ask Lilla what she might want. Yes, novel idea you know!
I must admit, her response surprised me, “Whatever Grandma and Grandpa get me will be just fine.”

I actually had to take a moment to process. Whatever they get me. WHATEVER they get me.
No demanding. No long list. No toys r’ us catalog filled with circles and X’s.
My heart just melted as I realized what a heart of gratefulness looked like.


Isn’t that what we all want from our children, our acquaintances and ultimately ourselves? I do. And I’m so grateful for a (very) soon to be 5 year old reminding me what it looks like.
1 Thessalonians 5:18 Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.


Leave a Reply

