God’s economy

Just read this off a friend’s facebook post. It hit home with me, as I am quick to jump when little things annoy me. I get irritated often, just like last night when my oldest jumped on the couch where I had just told her a cup of water sat. Patience was not my strong suit at this moment. I was thinking of God’s economy. Fortunately, this helps me to a little more.


A magazine article asked, “How would you respond to this? You ask one of your children to go get a rake, and he dents the car with it as he’s bringing it around.”

I hate to think how I’d respond!

The article advocated viewing such incidents “from God’s eternal perspective,” such as asking, “How much is that dent going to bother me a year from now?” The author said, “In God’s economy, it doesn’t amount to a hill of beans.”

It wasn’t long before a test situation arose. I went to take some cheese from the refrigerator and found part of the outside dried out. What a waste of good money! I had purposely bought a larger piece than usual because it was on sale. “Who forgot to put the cheese back in a plastic bag?” I started to bellow accusingly.

I took a second look at the orange wedge on the butcher block. How important would this be in a year?

I trimmed off the dry part and tossed it on the back porch for two grateful cats. Then I sliced some, wrapped the rest, and placed it back in the refrigerator. A reminder was in order for the family. But not a tantrum.

Not in God’s economy, anyway.
Father, please give me Your perspective.
—B. J. CONNOR

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brigette Joy
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:04:16

    Being reminded of God's wonderful love and have an eternal perspective always helps me to face life better!

    Reply

  2. Janet
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 18:32:14

    Beautiful post!

    Reply

  3. Amy Bennett
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 20:17:46

    Love this!

    Reply

  4. gail
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 06:23:39

    So true. Thanks for the reminder.Want to hook up on fb?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

