We’ve only just begun

The peanut is a comedian. I’m not kidding. She’s a 23 month old entertainer.

While walking through Burlington Coat Factory the other day I told my husband to take a seat while I ran and showed the peanut the toys. We were about halfway there when I hear her yell out behind her, “Michael, Michael, Michael.” Hmmmm…I don’t know where she learns these things!
Today she brought me a pencil and some paper and said, “Name.” Even though she’d never done this before I knew exactly what she wanted. She likes for me to write down her name and the names of various other people for her to see. So I looked at her and said, “OK, what’s your name?” She said, clear as day, “Erika.” Which, is my sister’s name. I said, “What is it?” She said, “Erika, Erika, Erika.” After the laughter stopped, I asked one more time and she said, through a big old smile, “Lilla.” Too smart this one, too smart!

I tell you though, I think the most adorable thing that has come out of this child’s mouth happened about a month ago. We went to pick up my husband at work I saw him coming toward the car. The peanut apparently did too because she called out, “Daddy.” Then, in the sweetest little voice I hear, “Cuuuute”. Is that not precious?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 22:22:12

    How adorable! Your days sound fun and entertaining.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 01:35:46

    Yes it is! This post just made me grin from ear to ear for the first time in days.. Thanks to you and Peanut..

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 06:44:38

    Yes, that is very precious! She not only entertains you, but us too with her cuteness! 🙂

    Reply

  4. parkersmom
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 09:41:36

    What a great post and yes she is adorable! I cannot believe she is almost two! It’s been a joy to watch her grow the last year, Amy.

    Your blog always manages to make me smile on my darkest days. Thank you for that!

    Reply

  5. Melissa
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 04:15:04

    Daddy’s heart must have grown ten sizes bigger that day! Kids say the darnest things and I love listening to them!!
    Mel

    Reply

  6. Beki
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 22:24:54

    Haha!! What a doll!!

    Reply

  7. Brenda (Brenda's World)
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 10:23:21

    Absolutely precious. It is so neat to see her little personality blossom. She’s gonna keep you laughing.
    B

    Reply

  8. Michelle in Mx
    Jan 21, 2008 @ 11:50:24

    I love it!
    Just love it!
    She’s put a smile on my face today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

