Wish you were here

Do you know the Pink Floyd song I named this post after? There is a line that says, “Like two lost souls swimming in a fish bowl, year after year.” I don’t know why, but I really like that song. Weird.
Anyway, I do have a reason for not posting for so long. I mean I’ve posted, but just a picture here and there. Life has just been hard and frustrating and busy lately.
On Monday the peanut ran out the front door chasing the dog and almost ran into the very busy (people driving 60mph) street in front of my house. Fortunately we have a long driveway! She has never left my side like that before so you know my front door has triple locks on it now!


On Wednesday our mailbox got hit out of who knows where so we had to replace that. Now our lawn mower won’t start, which may send us over the edge as our lawn is way too long! Hopefully we can get that fixed pronto!
Like I said in my photohunters post, we had to give up the dog. Poor Michael was so upset. He looked for anyway to keep him, we just couldn’t for safety reasons.

That same day we got a call at 2 am that his grandma had passed away. Although we knew it was going to be coming last week, it was still terribly sad. She was the kind of grandmother that you wish you had. So kind to everybody all the time. Just welcoming no matter who you were, she wasn’t judgemental at all. Really had a heart to serve Jesus and lived that way. I really loved his grandmother and wish I had had longer with her.

So, she died on Thursday morning, the viewing was on Friday in Louisville, KY and the funeral was there on Saturday. That’s about a two and a half hour drive so we stayed the night. Spent some time with his family, they were all heartbroken too. She was really the one that kept the family together, as is the case with so many mommas.

Grandma will really be missed!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. parkersmom
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 09:40:06

    Your family is in our prayers and we send our condolences. Losing someone is very difficult and I don’t think you can ever truly be prepared to lose someone you love.

    My heart was in my throat when you said that peanut ran out the door after the dog! Oh scared you must have been, Amy! And how sad that the puppy had to go. It’s a hard decision to make but you did what was right for the pup.

    And I cannot believe that was y’alls mailbox. I thought maybe you were driving around and saw it. Before I ever moved here there were some young boys who went around late at night hitting people’s mailboxes with baseball bats until one very brilliant man decided to make his out of cement. Needless to say the bat broke and the boys stopped.

    I hope that you are doing well and I miss your posting although I love your pics!

    Have a great week!

    Jes

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 19:06:19

    I’m sorry for all of the losses you have experienced as of late, but most especially of your hubby’s Grandma, losing a loved one is never easy and always difficult but thankfully as believers we have the hope of being reunited with our believing loved ones someday in heaven (although it’s of little solace while your grief is fresh. I’ll say a prayer for your family today!

    On a side note- I’m so thankful peanut was spared and is safe and sound-thank goodness for long driveways!

    Reply

  3. carrie211
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 20:29:18

    Oh Amy, I’m so sorry you’ve had a rough time lately. I know what it feels like to have one thing after the other go wrong. It’s horribly frustrating!!!!
    I will be praying for you guys and your family.
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lara
    Oct 09, 2007 @ 22:32:56

    Hello 🙂

    I just came across you blog…I am very sorry for what you are going through. You and your family are in my prayers….

    God Bless,
    Lara

    Reply

  5. Christine
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 23:20:43

    Oh Amy, I am so sorry for your loss.
    It is very frustrating to have one thing happen after another.
    I’ll be praying for peace for your family.
    God Bless,
    Christine

    Reply

  6. Cynthia
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 11:14:21

    You have had a very difficult time lately. So sorry for all of your losses.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

