Head and Shoulders, Knees and Toes

 

So as I said 2 posts ago, the peanut finally got her orthotic shoes.  I found out the root cause of all the problems is that she has flat feet.  No arches.  Now, most babies/kids aren’t developed yet, but hers are a more drastic, she will never have arches kind of thing.  So, what does that mean?  Well, it means she walks with a bit of a slant inward, so on the inside of her feet.  This causes balances problems and will eventually hurt the cartilage inside her knees.  So, she is probably going to be wearing the little braces (you can see them beneath her shoes in the above picture, they have bumblebees on them) under her shoes for the next five years or so.  After that she will probably always have to wear arch support in her shoes. 

I cried when I came home from the doctor.  I hate that my baby has to go through the pain of being “different” than the other kids.  I mean I know relatively speaking this is seriously nothing to be concerned about, but kids are cruel.  She will surely be made fun of at some point for it.  They are pretty noticeable, after all.  Her cousins were asking about it yesterday when they saw her.

The other really stinky part of it is that she will never be able to have the cute little girly shoes.  She is stuck wearing big fat tennis shoes that are a size too big for her anyway just to fit those things inside.  They really don’t even fit as it’s totally stretched out and the velcro barely reaches from one side to the other.  I know this is totally vain of me, but I love that the peanut is a girl.  I love dressing her up and having her be all pretty.  It’s hard to look pretty in big fat tennis shoes that don’t match the size of your body.  Ugh!  I really do know this is stupid, but it’s hard for me.  She has to wear the orthotics for 6-8 hours a day, the busy hours, so to church I’m still going to have her wear pretty shoes.  She’s a girl, what can I say, I want her to live like one.

I think I really need to remember the passage, 1 Samuel 16:7 – “The Lord does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Amen to that!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Young Tami
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 06:15:28

    Well, those little orthotic shoes are so cute, very unnoticeable! I’m kind of going through the same thing since my little guy’s left foot turns in too far and so he needs a brace. I haven’t gotten it for him yet, mostly cause it is different, and because I know it’ll be a fight for him to keep it on, but in the long run it’ll be worth it! I love your scripture quote though!

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 07:27:22

    You aren’t stupid- I would cry too, if one of my little ones had to face what your little one is. I had a “wandering eye” as a child, and Samuel has had one since he was born. I know I should take him to the dr. but I just am so scared they are going to say that he has to have his eyes operated on!
    This is just the beginning for Peanut- who knows what can happen and what medical marvels can happen in the future. Her shoes are very cute, and you can put her girly shoes on her for short periods of time too! In the meantime, she has people (especially mommy) who love her and will support her NO MATTER WHAT and she will have strength to get through each day through love, prayers, and Christ!!!

    Reply

  3. meg
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 10:36:00

    Please don’t worry about it too much; as you said, it is a very minor problem that will improve over time. She can be just as cute & girlie with the braces- it’s all in perception- they are only a small part of an outfit. With all the love & support that Peanut gets from the two of you, she will have the self-assurance necessary to shrug any silliness that is said to her.

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 22:50:26

    I stopped by last week for your T13 and put you in my faves so I’m stopping by again to see what is going on.
    I love your writing style.
    Anyways, there is a little girl in our church that had the little braces like your ‘peanut’ and she wears all those girly girl shoes to church with her girly dresses too. Then wears the braces at other times (with her tennis shoes and such) her parents said the other day not long now and she’ll be out of them.
    Hugs, your little peanut will be out of them before you know it, time flies!

    Reply

  5. gail
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 00:24:22

    My ds was diagnosed w/ the same thing at the same age. Guess what? He no longer has flat feet! Pray it not so, dear Amy. hugs

    Reply

  6. Carole Olson
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 02:10:52

    Amy,
    This is not stupid at all. Anytime that things become different…there is some grieving with that. I’m hoping that the 5 years fly by. Peanut will probably start a revoulution and all the kids will be asking their mom for braces…because they want to be like her.

    I know your heart is hurting. I’m thinking of you.
    ~Carole

    Reply

  7. Kim
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 20:57:29

    Amy, I came for WW, but this post caught my eye. As a parent, you have every right to feel the way you do as long as you continue to count your blessings and appreciate all of the good things in life. She’s a doll and just think, at least the braces aren’t forever, right? An arch support won’t be noticeable and she’ll even be able to wear them in her “girlie” shoes.

    Reply

  8. Amanda
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 21:42:37

    amy…don’t feel like you are being silly…it is so normal for you to want peanut to be “girlie”…probably would be abnormal if this wasn’t emotional for you! with her precious, radiant little smile you don’t even see her little feet…and as she gets older what an opportunity for her to learn compassion for others…i know, that probably doesn’t sound like much comfort right now. but as my “trusting God” study reminded me this week…Godly character doesn’t come from easy circumstances but rather those that challenge us…praying for you and thining of you!

    Reply

  9. Leeann
    Sep 13, 2007 @ 05:59:58

    Just know that every child has something “different” about them and that hopefully parents are raising their kids to be tolerant. The best that I can do, is to explain to my children that we are all made differently…and that is a good thing! When my children make comments about others (“Mom! That man is really short!” or “Mom! That little boy is in a wheelchair!”) I just tell them, “Yup. Isn’t it wonderful that God made all of us different?” She will learn to deal with other’s opinions by the way that YOU react to other’s opinions.

    Besides…they sure are darn cute! My kids would probably just be jealous! 🙂

    Reply

  10. snpnmnmi
    Sep 14, 2007 @ 08:24:41

    You would be surprised, maybe, by how careing a lot of children today seem to be. And you’re probably already hanging in the caring crowds anyway! They are not very noticable… and as hard as it’s going to be, you know the hardest aprt is going to be not noticing them too much yourself! She’ll be fine!! She’s a trooper and your a tough Momma, right? 😉 I’m echoing a thousand times over Leeann (gee, how do you attract such thoughtful and knowledgable women to your blog?)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

