Oh, I forgot to mention…

OK, so I’m not sure why but I’ve been bad about posting lately.  I always have good intentions and random thoughts about what would make a good post, but then life gets in the way, and, yadda, yadda, yadda…

Anyway, life has been going pretty good lately.  Fairly busy, but not too crazy.  I am starting back into the fall routine, which I really do enjoy, so that is a good thing.  During the summer we kind of just flip flop around, but in the fall we have:

Monday: preschool reading time at the library

Tuesday: playgroup in the morning, bible study every other week (nights)

Wednesday: Daddy is home all day, yeah!

Thursday: Women’s Bible Study

Friday: Every other week MOPS meeting

I prefer this schedule more.  I like having things to do that keep us busy.  It can kind of get boring here when we are not participating in a bunch of things and I think the peanut really misses having friends.  So, this schedule, and having playdates with other kids, really helps her out.

I started a new MOPS group today.  For those who don’t know, MOPS is mothers of preschoolers.  It’s a national organization that has little branches in churches all over.  I was in it last year but since we moved I would have to drive an hour to my old one, so I am going to a new one closer to home.  It was a small, but really nice group.  Also, I volunteered to be on the steering committee so I am really looking forward to that.  It will also provide me an opportunity to meet moms in my area so I am glad for that.

My dad stopped by yesterday to drop off his dog so he could go to a football game at his old college.  My dad lives in Tennessee so we only see him when he is driving through and the once a year we go down there.  It’s a little weird to have his dog.  He is 12 and not looking good.  I feel bad for this poor animal.  He is just limping around.  He’s been whining and clearly is not comfortable.  Michael had to pick him up today to get him to go outside.  He growled at him twice before he could get the dog up.  He needs to pee though so what could we do.  Also, he won’t eat.  He can’t get up the stairs so we basically have to push him up them.  I just feel so sorry for this dog.  I understand, as I have a dog, that he is a real member of the family, but I’m wondering if this is borderline cruel to not put him down.  I just feel so sorry for him.

I was also able to present the gospel to my dad again last night.  He believes that anyone can get to heaven and I gave him biblical reasons why this is false.  I just keep praying that one day he will “get it”.

The peanut got her orthotic shoes today.  Hopefully this will help her to have better balance and therefore have less falls.  The poor thing is constantly falling over.  She has more black and blue marks on her knees and her head from all the spills she takes.  I am so concerned someone is going to think I’m abusing her.  No laughing matter!  I guess she has really flat feet and it causes her to walk on the insides of them.  This causes balance problems.  Also, it will cause knees problems if it’s not fixed.  So, here we go…

I hope you all have a great weekend!  Enjoy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mel
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 17:46:42

    You have had quite a lot happening lately! I’m glad you got to see your dad and share the gospel with him. I think I take it for granted with being raised in a Christian home with believer parents. Enjoy your weekend.

    Reply

  2. Faithfulmom
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 23:15:36

    Hi Amy! I had to comment about Peanut’s falling…it sounds great that you are doing something about it. My Scooter has Sensory Processing Disorder. What is that?! It is confusing but kids can have sensory issues on either spectrum requiring lots of sensory (spinning, jumping, tickling) or the other (dislike tastes, smells, movement). Scooter does a fair job of falls and he walks on his tip toes a lot. That is part of his Sensory issues. The book they told me to learn about was the Out of Sync Child. I had never heard of it after 5 kids so I am not sure if it well known or not. Now that kids are back in school maybe I will get on my computer more often. Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

