This World

“This world has nothing for me, and this world has everything.

All that I could want and nothing that I need.”

Caedmon’s Call

This is a quote from a song by my favorite band, Caedmon’s Call.  The words strike me this morning as I am overcome by a feeling of sadness for this world.  I have been lying in bed for the last hour just thinking about how selfish we, as a people, are.  Romans 3:11 says, “There is none that understands God.  There is none that seek Him.”  And isn’t that so true?

I am part of a local internet bulletin board for moms to connect around this area.  It’s a board for people of all kinds, not just Christians.  Recently, one of the questions a girl asked was how she should deal with a friend who did not include her in her wedding.  The answers were all unbelievable.  Angry women saying how mad they would be and how she shouldn’t attend events for her.  I just couldn’t believe the selfishness coming through!

Since when did another person’s wedding become about you, is all I could think.  I mean, don’t get me wrong ladies, I’ve been that person before.  Of course everyone wants to feel loved and respected by our friends and what a way to honor them.  Seriously though, in a situation like this, shouldn’t we just, as it says in Romans 12:15, “Rejoice with those who rejoice.”

I don’t want to come off sounding high and mighty, because I am not.  I feel I am the lowest of sinners.  I just think that since our mission trip, God has really been working so my heart would be sensative to the spirit.  I want to think like Jesus so I can be like Jesus.  I hope you do too!

So, today, why don’t we strive to, “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than ourselves.” Phillipians 2:3

I hope you all have a blessed day!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Faithfulmom
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 23:29:14

    Amen Amy Sistah! There is way too much selfishness in this world. If we just tried to hold on our own selfishness, the world would be a lot better. Just a great post! Blessings…

    Reply

  2. Amanda
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 04:24:10

    so true that there is simply too much mean-spiritedness and bitterness…selfishness…and i am so sad to realize how often i can fall into that same kind of thinking…and even acting at times. tahnks for the thoughtful post!

    Reply

  3. snpnmnmi
    Aug 30, 2007 @ 19:24:12

    “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than ourselves.” Phillipians 2:3

    This post just echoes so much of what I’ve been thinking lately. My problem is that I often hesitate way too much in the doing of anything because I’m battling inside myself trying to decide if I have selfish or conceited motivations.
    I’m shouting along with you, though… bring on the kindness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

