Sister, Sister

Proverbs 18:19 states, “An offended brother is more unyielding than a fortified city, and disputes are like the barred gates of a citadel.” 

I read that this morning and had to stop and think about my own family.  I actually have 2 sisters and 2 brothers, but my sister, Erika, is the closest to me.  We are only a year apart and really just grew up together, for lack of a better term.  Erika and I know each other very well, we usually are the first one the other calls when something great or hard happens, we trust each other with our kids and we laugh at the same jokes.

Erika and I are so different though too.  While she wears lots of black, always has on makeup and the latest hair do, I’m a total slacker in my khaki’s and tusseled up anything but a hairstyle.  Erika is outgoing while I am quite introverted and prefer to listen usually.  She is a vocalist whereas I’m the one behind the scenes.  I’m the thinker to Erika being the voice.  Erika is the fun loving girl while I am the more thoughtful.  I have a hard time letting people slip by on little white lies, whereas she would never think about it.  Things are more black and white while Erika has lots of shades of yellow.  Erika is oversensative though and gets offended very easily.  I am more than one who just says, whatever. 

Amazing how two people can live there lives so close and yet be so far different.  It has made it hard at times for Erika and I to see eye to eye.  We get in little tussles, we know which buttons to push and we, at times, push them.  I don’t know why, and I wish that weren’t true.  I would love it if there was a point in time where we could just call it even and just be friends.  That would be so ideal.

We don’t live in an ideal world though.  However, when I read the above passage in Proverbs today I remembered that what is really important is not offending Erika.  Allowing her to be who she is and still co-exist with me being who I am.  I would rather that than deal with the citadels!  I’m going to be praying today that God would break down those walls and therefore only build a more perfect union with him.

Have a great weekend all!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carrie211
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 06:53:59

    What a great post. That’s a good verse. Very convicting, isn’t it? It makes me think about the relationship I have with my biological mother. Yikes. I have been in prayer a lot with that situation and I will continue to do so until the Lord tells me what my next step should be.
    Thanks for posting that!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Aug 18, 2007 @ 08:43:39

    My sister and I are two peas in a pod when it comes to many things, but we have our black and white differences as well…I hope those walls come tumbling down for you and your sister so you can enjoy the gift God has given the two of you….each other!

    Reply

  3. J.D. Long
    Aug 20, 2007 @ 04:44:05

    I have a sister in Virginia who’s an alcoholic. I haven’t spoken with her in seven years — her choice. I have another sister who’s son (my nephew) physically assaulted my son — extremely viciously. We had to move out of state for our own protection. I haven’t spoken with her in six years — her choice there. (When I told her what happened, she hired a Lawyer and tried to sue my 11-year-old son.)

    Some things are not our choices. But we learn to live with them, and forgive them anyway.

    In that vein, I’m summarily declaring that Indiana Amy is #2 on my “Pay It Forward” (PIF) giveaway.

    I’m summarily bending the rules because (1) I’m originally from Indiana (Valparaiso, In fact), and have a soft spot for Indianapolis, and (2) God’s Grace is not a “tit-for-tat” thing either, is it?

    I’ll be e-mailing you three later this week when I’ve had a chance to let my creative juices flow and figure out what the prizes are.

    ~~JD~~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

