With Every Breath

On Friday night, the peanut and I were in the loft watching one of her silly shows when we heard a click and a creek at the door.  Suddenly, it burst open and out came a squeal of “Daddy!”  Oh, what joy to hear your child call out your name, to desire your time as opposed to the lastest toy, or friend or other object.

I couldn’t help, in thinking of this, how God must feel in connection to us in this matter.  How He desires to have us call out His name, in joy and struggles, when we are hurting or celebrating, in all times sharing sweet fellowship with Him.

How often do I focus on the lastest gadget, or tv show or caller on the telephone than the One that really matters?  How often do I pat myself on the back because I spent three hurried minutes in God’s word for my daily devotion or said, “God bless you” to someone at the store?  It’s all embaressingly too often.

God wants us to hear from us and speak to us as sons and daughters.  We should be longing for that fellowship with every breath.  He is the most high God and He wants to meet with ME!!  How sweet is his prescence!

Psalm 91:1 “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.”

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carrie211
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 04:27:58

    Amen! 🙂
    Hope you’re having a good Monday!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  2. Rach (Heart of Rachel)
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 13:03:56

    Sometimes I feel ashamed that I have plenty of energy to shop for new clothes, meet friends out for lunch, watch a movie or spend countless hours blogging but when it comes to praying, I sometimes fall asleep before I even complete my prayers. I’m just thankful that God is always kind despite my shortcomings.

    Reply

  3. Elizabeth
    Aug 14, 2007 @ 16:52:32

    I loved this post- your words ring SO TRUE!! Thank You! 🙂

    Reply

  4. T
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 00:37:34

    So, so true. God is merciful with us! It is so easy to get overly busy doing stuff, and fail to spend time with the One who is Everything. It doesn’t make sense. I identify with Paul saying “I don’t really understand myself, for I want to do what is right, but I don’t do it. Instead, I do what I hate.”

    Reply

  5. Carole Olson
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 02:00:37

    Amy,
    Wow! I really needed this focus today. Thanks so much for sharing this truth.
    ~Carole

    Reply

  6. Christine
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 02:44:49

    Amy,
    Beautiful post. How true our heavenly father wants to be there for us to pick us up and just love us.
    Something we all need to reminded of, his love for us.
    Hope you are having a good day!

    Reply

  7. Michelle in Mx
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 03:32:45

    SOooooooooooooo True. I have been convicted more and more that I need to spend more time with Him . . .just cause he loves me and misses me, and I do just need to spend some time in his arms!

    Reply

  8. Pauline
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 05:19:39

    Hi Amy, thanks so much for taking the time to visit, you are such a gem. You must be one of the sweetest and nicest young person I know, me being old enough to be your mother of course lol. I always find your post so uplifting and so true. You are a real joy. God bless you, dear Amy, Hugs, Pauline

    Reply

  9. Amazing Gracie
    Aug 15, 2007 @ 08:17:49

    OUCH!!! That hurt. The Lord is gracious and true. By our fruit will we be known and I’m afraid I have nothing to show but a bunch of peelings and pits.

    Reply

  10. g.j.
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 04:19:38

    ____________@@@@@@___________@@ @
    __________@@@____@@@_______@@@@@
    ________@@@__ ______@@_____@@@@@@@
    ________@@___________@@__@@@______@@
    ________@@____________@@@__________@@
    __________@@________________________@@
    ____@@@@@@______@@@@@___________@@
    __@@@@@@@@@__@@@@@@@_________@@
    __@@____________@@@@@@@@@_______@@
    _@@____________@@@@@@@@@@_____@@
    _@@____________@@@@@@@@@___@@@
    _@@@___________@@@@@@@______@@
    __@@@@__________@@@@@________@@
    ____@@@@@@_______________________@@
    _________@@_________________________@@
    ________@@___________@@___________@@
    ________@@@________@@@@@@@@@@@
    _________@@@_____@@@_@@@@@@@
    __________@@@@@@@
    ___________@@@@@_@
    ____________________@
    ____________________@
    _____________________@
    ______________________@
    ______________________@____@@@
    ______________@@@@__@__@_____@
    _____________@_______@@@___@@
    ________________@@@____@_@@
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒Make a friend, is a Gift ▒▒▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒▒ Have a friend, is a Grace ▒▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒ Maintain a friend, is a Virtue ▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒But, having a Friend as YOU ▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ is a ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
    ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒ Great Blessing! ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒

    g.j

    Reply

Leave a Reply

