Thy Mercy My God is the Theme of My Song…

So much happened on the trip I’m going to break the posts up so as not to bog you down! 🙂  Here is the first…

First of all, for those who were wondering, the peanut did really good considering the situation.  Hungary is 7 hours ahead of us so it’s pretty easy to get jetlagged.  At first she was only getting 6 hours of sleep at night, and since she usually gets 12, it was really hard on her.  By the end, she was getting 9 or 10, so that improved and it really seemed more like her by the end of the trip.  You know, as her mother, I was so concerned her fussiness would offend others, but it never did.  Everyone just spent the week oohing and ahhing over her.  Adorable!

Here she is being loved on at the airport by the kids.

Pooped out among the luggage!

 This little girl just adored the peanut.  She took her everywhere and everyone thought they were sisters.  Funny.

Being loved on by one of the counselors, Desu.

This is Tamara, from Serbia.  She is 6 and carried the peanut around like this all week.  Hilarious!

Two of our campers, Vicki and Szandi, giving her hugs!

So, before the trip I had really been praying that God would have travel mercies on us and that the peanut would not have a hard time flying.  I also know that flights are really booked at this time of the year so I was praying there would be a seat next to us open so she wouldn’t have to sit on our laps the whole way.  Don’t you know that we missed our connecting flight in Philly so we had to go on a later plane, there was a bad storm coming from the west so many planes were delayed and therefore only 1/3 of our plane was filled.  We all had several seats to ourselves!  Also, since we left later, we were able to put her on her own two seats among pillows and blankets and she slept 6 hours of the 8 hour flight!

Then, on the way home, I knew the flight was booked, but prayed again for provision in this matter.  I have to tell you, God provided for this too, because there was only 1 seat on the plane open and it was right in front of us.  So, my husband sat in that seat and the peanut sat next to me.  Perfect!  She was so good on the way home too!  Barely made a peep, although she only slept about an hour an a half.

One more provision God made for the peanut was getting us the passport.  Eight days before the trip we had no passport and I was getting a little worried.  I went to the post office and asked if they could put a hold on the mail from our former house, because a day could matter here.  They said they couldn’t but would watch for it.  As I was walking out of USPS a woman stopped me and explained how she had needed a passport quickly some years before and got it by calling her state senator.  So, when I got home I called our state senator’s office, they said to fill out a form on their website and they would get on it.  I did and 45 minutes later they called back and said it would be there the next day.  I just praise God that he heard my prayer on this, put this woman at the USPS at just the right time and had her have the decency to offer me help!  Praise God for his mercies that never end!

More to follow…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 10:29:16

    God Bless You! It is good to see you’re back safe!!!

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 19:23:40

    What a great testimony of God’s provision! I’m glad everything worked out smoothly and He calmed your fears. And I’m glad you’re back safe and sound!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  3. Ladybug!
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 20:55:38

    Oh come on. Your peanut doesn’t get fussy does she? Couldn’t be. 😉 Can’t wait to hear more.

    Reply

  4. Jackie Sue
    Aug 09, 2007 @ 21:53:45

    What an AMAZING looking trip! My favorite picture is “pooped out among the luggage.” Definitely a keeper!

    Reply

  5. Christine
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 09:18:07

    The Peanut is just so darn cute, even when she’s ‘pooped’.

    Reply

  6. Rach (Heart of Rachel)
    Aug 11, 2007 @ 21:03:34

    Hi Amy. It’s nice to have you back. Thank you for sharing about your trip. The photos are so nice. Peanut looks so happy meeting new people.

    God is so kind. It’s amazing how He helps us in unexpected ways. I’m glad that you had a safe and wonderful trip.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

