I’m going home, to the place where I belong…

I am so not kidding with this title people.  I feel like pinocchio shouting, “I’m a real girl!  I have a real key!!”  Ok, he didn’t exactly say either of those two statements, but you get my point.

My in-laws and I went to get the key tonight and seriously, the house is even better than I remember.  I just love the house, and love the yard.  My father-in-law and I walked down to where the garden area is (which is mostly empty now as they were planning on selling so they did not plant this year.)  There are a couple of straggler tomato plants, a bunch of strawberry plants and a grape vine growing real grapes.  Holy cow, I think I’ll start a winery! πŸ™‚

Next year I’m totally growing green and red peppers, cucumbers, zucchini and green beans too!  I can’t wait!  Now, about this time next year when nothing has come in and it’s all dead from lack of something I should have done, as in give them water, I may need to restate that. I am so not kidding people.  I have the most brown thumb of them all.  The lady I bought the house from had a lot of planters outside and asked me if she could leave them until next week.  I told her she could but please don’t expect me to take care of them.  They will die a tragic death by the weekend…so not good!

I tried keeping my mother-in-laws tomatoes in good condition by adding water last week and they turned yellow the next day.  You think I may have given them just a wee bit too much water?

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carrie211
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 08:15:48

    Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Closing on a house is SO exciting!!!!
    And….I have a black thumb too. Can’t keep anything alive. In fact this year I’ve given up. Seth wanted some flowers in the flowerbed in front of the house. I told him that was fine, but he’d have to plant them and take care of them because I was SICK of spending all that time and energy taking care of something that hated me so much it would just die.

    So he did. And they’re beautiful. Go figure.

    Have fun in the new place!
    God bless πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. nspiredbyfaith
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 21:01:40

    Congratulations on the house! As for the gardening,..every time I mention planting a garden or even just a few tomato plants, my husband starts talking in “acres”. I immediately change my mind. We have no garden. I’m not going to be hoeing any acre of anything!

    Reply

  3. Amber
    Jul 17, 2007 @ 21:03:04

    Hurray for your new abode! And there is NOTHING like a great yard. Ours is nice but I MISS having an established site where there is actually shade and a profusion of plants!

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 00:16:18

    hooray for getting the keys and getting this moving show on the road! i can just imagine you kicking up your heels and shouting “i’m a real girl”….really, amy, i can! πŸ™‚ praying that all gets settled with the peanut’s passport….and for that last little bit of support to come in!

    Reply

  5. meg
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 00:21:42

    Hooray! I’m so pleased for you all πŸ˜€ The daydreams you’ll have & the fun of making them come true- I envy you.

    Reply

  6. Michelle in MX
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 01:44:43

    I am SO like you . . brown thumb . . loved the part that said “dead from lack of something I should have done, as in give them water” LOL
    Guilty!
    I would love to grow red bell peppers and cucumbers though. I would give it a try if it wasn’t for my little one’s grabby hands as soon as they see anything that looks like it could be plucked.

    That, or I’m just using them as an excuse . . .

    Happy to hear about how you LOVE the house!

    Reply

  7. Curious Servant
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 04:28:39

    First time to this blog.

    I’m just skipping around from blog to blog via comments.

    We’re on a road trip and I am decompressing from the drive today. (What an adventure it has been!)

    At any rate… congratuilations on your new hime. that is wonderful.

    God bless.

    Reply

  8. ~β™₯β™₯~Lisa~β™₯β™₯~
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 10:21:24

    What an exciting time for you & your family
    a new home……..Congratulations I am so happy
    for you guy’s. Thanks for stopping by the other
    day to visit me. I haven’t been able to have
    much computer time here lately. But I do find a
    few times here and there. I love your spot
    over here it is really nice.
    Well I hope you have a wonderful time
    planning for the new garden and all it will produce
    for you. I just know it will all be wonderful for you.
    Many Hugs To You
    ~Lisa

    Reply

  9. Christine
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 21:47:42

    Congratulations! There is no place like HOME!! What a wonderful feeling it is to move to a house that you can feel you are HOME!!

    Reply

  10. Amanda
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 00:28:40

    hey girl…to answer your question the bed rail is from onestepahead.com and i LOVE it because it goes almost the full length of the bed…SO the only way elizabeth could fall/crawl out is at the end. i think she likes the security of the rail because most of the time she sleeps right up near it. and costco doesn’t actually take just any coupons…they send out mailers with their own coupons on certain items periodically….this time the jackpot coupon was $9 off diapers and wipes….holy cow! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  11. Christine
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 00:38:12

    BTW~ I tagged with a fun meme about you and your husband. No worries to do it right away, when ever you get settled.

    Reply

  12. Mike
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 00:49:54

    My 4-year old and I planted carrots weeks back. Only one grew.

    “Daddy,” my 4-year old said. “I think we have the sore thumbs.”

    Mike
    http://somethingaboutparenting.typepad.com/

    http://www.mikeleonen.com/

    Reply

  13. Jackie Sue
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 04:00:20

    Nothing like vine-ripened tomatoes; well, except maybe having your own garden in which to grow them and your own backyard for the garden!! Congrats!

    Reply

  14. Ladybug!
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 05:46:24

    Oh I’ve missed so much. I need to come back when I can stay longer. Congrats on the new home.

    Reply

  15. Bonnie
    Jul 19, 2007 @ 08:24:00

    Cool, That is fantastic. I have absolutely no gardening advice for you, but I will wish you good luck and God’s blessings in your new abode. I love reading your blog, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

