Honor Your Husband

You know, I don’t really enjoy most of the newer sitcoms.  In fact, there are very few that I could tell you the day or time for these days.  A big reason for this, is the way the treat men.  They act like they are all morons and couldn’t put a lightbulb in a socket without a woman’s help.  Now, while I do believe God created us to be helpmates for our husband for a reason, I also tend to believe that this has emasculated our men.  It has made our men weak, unconfident and not willing to try on many things for fear of failing.  Not good ladies!

Well, who says we can’t start to turn the tide?  I found this new blog, Fruit in Season, where she challenged her readers to 30 days of honoring your husband.  It could be small things, like telling him daily how important he is to you, bigger things like picking up those crumbs he leaves everytime he eats without grumbling or complaining (yes, in your heart too ladies!) or maybe just building him up to others with or without him around.

So, I started mine with the list below of why I love my husband.  Today, after a little riff we had, I called and apologized.  Now this may not seem like a lot, it is to me.  We just didn’t do that in my family growing up, we just walked away and didn’t bring it up again.  I am really trying to make strides in order to honor this wonderful gift God has blessed me with.  I want to honor my husband and in that encourage him to be the wonderful father and husband God intended him to be.

Anyone want to join me? 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanne
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 08:57:50

    Challenge accepted!

    Reply

  2. Suzanne
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 09:44:11

    Ok, thought this was kinda exciting. I went to the Fruit/marriage page, saw the blog link to Thankful Thursday with Iris, Iris gave a thankyou to running2ks for the idea, and that cartoon I recognized. Clicked on running2ks, she happens to be a reader on a site “The Reign of Ellen” which is on my favorites links, she is a friend of mine here in town. Isnt it amazing the 6 degrees of seperation people all of us?! How cool. So glad that so many people are jumping on the thankful bandwagon!

    Reply

  3. carrie211
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 19:35:51

    Count me in, what a great motivator!

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    Jun 22, 2007 @ 22:49:44

    i will definitely join you…now i must go visit the site you mentioned. and i completely agree with the way that sitcoms, commercials, etc. all make men look like morons….so frustrating.

    Reply

  5. Lincoln
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 08:05:06

    How about honoring potential FUTURE husbands while you’re at it? 😉

    Reply

  6. Bonnie
    Jun 24, 2007 @ 23:27:20

    Thank you for the fantastic reminder!!! Challenge accepted – I too am going to write a list, my compulsion – list writing.. love it. Thank you again – you are absolutely right!

    Reply

  7. Andie
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 00:52:16

    I totally agree with you about TV shows! It’s humiliating to men, and therefore…me as a wife. I depend on my husband to be strong and courageous…and he is. I am in on the challenge…blessings to you and your marriage.
    Andie

    Reply

  8. Kristin
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 20:42:19

    Have you been reading “For Women Only” by Shaunti Feldman?

    Your opening sound almost exactly like her book.

    Reply

  9. amyszoo
    Jun 28, 2007 @ 23:03:07

    Nope, never heard of it before. Sounds like a smart person to me though! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

