Hey Good Lookin’, What ya got cookin?

I’ve been trying to think of ways to get the peanut to eat her fruits and vegetables lately, and let me tell you it is not easy.  She is a bread/carb fan in a huge way.  So, I decided to start making some quick breads.  I made a delicious zucchini bread the other day that she’s been mowing on every since, and today I made Banana Bread.  It too is so yummy!  I thought I would share this recipe I came across on Simply Recipes.  It turned out perfect!

3 or 4 ripe bananas, smashed
1/3 cup melted butter
1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
1 egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking soda
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 cup of flour

No need for a mixer for this recipe. Preheat the oven to 350°F. With a wooden spoon, mix butter into the mashed bananas in a large mixing bowl. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 1 hour. Cool on a rack. Remove from pan and slice to serve.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda (Brenda's World)
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 03:27:21

    Oh my gosh! I have to stop visiting when you are sharing yummy recipes – I’m hungry now! That banana bread sounds so delicious.

    Dropping by to say hi and wish you and your family well!

    Take care,
    B

    Reply

  2. YoungMommy
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 06:40:24

    Banana bread is the best… Love it! My Mom makes killer zucchini bread, yummm! I love finding sneaky ways to get my kids to eat good-for-you foods. 🙂

    Congratulations on the house. It is beautiful… I am so excited for you!

    Having chickens is a piece of cake… They are super easy to take care of (I grew up taking care of chickens) and their eggs are better than any you could buy in a store!

    Reply

  3. carrie211
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 15:03:02

    I just love banana bread! Thanks for posting this recipe!
    God bless!

    Reply

  4. Carole
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 16:14:04

    All I can say is…YUMMY.

    Reply

  5. Michelle in MX
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 03:38:14

    My little one is a carb fan too, BIG TIME! I’m gonna have to follow you on the zucchini bread AND the banana bread . . . good thinking! Thanks for the idea!

    Reply

  6. Pauline
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 16:35:14

    Hi Amy thanks for your nice comments, its always so delightful to see you drop by. Thats a good idea that recipe. When my daughter was young, she wouldn’t eat mashed potatoes, so I used to add apple sauce with it, but it still didn’t work. Now she loves mashed potatoes. Between now and then she acquired the taste. Take care Amy and God bless you and yours. luv, Pauline

    Reply

  7. Christine
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 21:18:17

    Mmmmmmmmmmmm…..I love banana bread, and in our house a loaf a bread doesn’t last a day! Big carb fans here. And zucchini bread, I loved when my mom made hers. Somehow mine never tastes as good. Thanks for the inspiration, I’m going to have to make one of these or maybe both. 🙂
    Take care.

    Reply

  8. meg
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 22:52:22

    What a good idea~ I was fortunate enough to be blessed with three vegetable-freak kids; I’d have to watch them in the garden, or I’d have no cherry tomatoes or snap peas to harvest. 😦
    Drop by my blogspot site to see my new project- maybe you or someone you know could help out! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Robin
    Jun 21, 2007 @ 00:08:22

    My kids will eat banana bread if they have chocolate chips. I must try to sneak in some zucchini too! All of my kids (except the 3 year old) love yellow squash (steamed) and zucchini (grilled). The other favorite is mushrooms! You never know what they will but all my kids waited until they got older to like decent vegies. Blessings!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

