How funky is your chicken

Apparently I’m going to need to do some reading up on how to care for a chicken.  Why you might ask?  Well, we went by the new house we are buying and the current owners asked us if we would like 4 chickens.  I hadn’t noticed it when I went by the first time but they have a small chicken coop in the backyard.   They won’t be able to take it with them as they will be moving in town so they offered it to us.  The chickens produce 4 eggs a day.  According to the owners all you need to do is feed and water them and take the eggs out everyday.  And, since we do like eggs, now 4 eggs a day may be stretching that, but we do like them, we said yes.  So, in July I will be the proud new owner of 4 chickens.   Weird, but cool too!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rittyrats
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 02:10:54

    Hello! Just returning a visit from TT; thanks for stopping by! I enjoyed your list of gifts for dads, too. I would have added dress shirts to the list, cuz that’s what my husband got & that new cd by Jonny Lang.

    Are you sure you want chickens? That’s a beautiful pic of the house…kinda hard to believe there’s a chicken coop on the property. Oh, well, good luck with that!

    Reply

  2. misslionheart
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 08:40:42

    A new house with chickens! I’d *love* that. My sister has lots of chicks (and lots of scrambled egg for breakfast!)

    Have a great week.

    Reply

  3. Christine
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 18:06:23

    We had a flock growing up. I remember how cool it was going out to get the eggs in the morning. 4 is a good number to have. You’ll be making lots of omellettes. Yummo! 🙂

    Reply

  4. meg
    Jun 18, 2007 @ 19:41:03

    Wow- chickens? That could be interesting, in a fun way…of course, I’m strictly a city girl & know nothing about them 😀
    Yes, I wake up after those dreams & am always so relieved that it wasn’t real! The thought of being married to the ex again just makes feel ill- not that he’s gross or cruel or anything like that- he just doesn’t appeal to me (ironic since we have 2 children :P)

    Reply

  5. Bonnie
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 00:15:30

    Chickens! That’s fantastic! I think you should do the chicken dance in celebration, it’s not everyday someone offers you a chicken coop 🙂 Have fun and roll with it, you could always do some baking, make quiche, devilled eggs….. when all else fails, I’m sure you’ll have friends and neighbors !

    Reply

  6. Lincoln
    Jun 19, 2007 @ 01:40:18

    Hi there, I came across your blog after seeing your comment on the whackozoid OB nurse that was advocating wholesale slaughter of unborn children. I’m glad you took her to task.

    Good deal with the chickens, but I have to as: was it the eggs they offered first, or the chickens? 😀

    Reply

  7. carrie211
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 14:20:34

    Chickens?!?! Good luck – I’d be too “chicken” to venture into that. Hee heeeee!!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  8. Suzanne
    Jun 20, 2007 @ 18:36:07

    That is so great. I would love some chickens. Did you know that we have a pig? She weighs about 200lbs and we live in the middle of town, and our yard is not fenced in. She just stays around her little yard area and house. Guess how I got her? The previous owners didn’t have somewhere to move her to…so they asked if we wanted her. Her name is Scout, we’ve nicknamed her Sweetheart. I have a picture of her on my cafemom page. Aren’t housewarming gifts great?!

    Congrats on the new house! Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

