Thursday 13

I’m a person who loves quotes and uses them often.  Here are 13 that I really like!

1. Carpe Diem.  (Seize the Day) Horace

2. Those who stand for nothing fall for anything.  Alexander Hamilton

3. I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen; not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.  CS Lewis

4. You must be the change you want to see in the world.  Mahatma Gandhi

5. Some men see things as they are and ask, ‘why?’ I dream things that never were and ask, ‘why not?’  Robert Francis Kennedy

6. The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody else up.  Mark Twain

7. We make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give. Winston Churchill.

8. What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.  This was my senior class motto so many years ago, I still love this quote!!

9. Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.  Albert Einstein

10. In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.  Robert Frost

11. The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched – they must be felt with the heart.  Helen Keller

12. People are just as happy as they make up their minds to be. Abraham Lincoln

13. How wonderful it is that nobody need wait a single moment before starting to improve the world.  Anne Frank

Come join in the fun at www.thursdaythirteen.com!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lyn
    May 24, 2007 @ 13:15:52

    Those quotes remind me of a funny joke. lgp

    Reply

  2. Alasandra
    May 24, 2007 @ 13:35:00

    Thanks for visiting my TT.

    Love the flowers at the top of your blog.

    Nice quotes.

    Reply

  3. Ctina
    May 24, 2007 @ 13:40:14

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love CS Lewis too, and he is very quotable! 🙂 Fun TT!

    Reply

  4. jennyr
    May 24, 2007 @ 14:02:31

    those are all great quotes that we can always try to practice and reflect…nice one!

    Reply

  5. noladawn
    May 24, 2007 @ 15:31:22

    I love that RFK quote. I have it up in my classroom!

    Reply

  6. YoungMommy
    May 24, 2007 @ 16:01:24

    I love ’em all, but I have to say that #13 really jumped out at me… I am such a procrastinator!!

    Have a great Thursday 🙂

    (My TT is up, too.)

    Reply

  7. Chelle Y.
    May 24, 2007 @ 16:18:15

    Reply

  8. Christine
    May 24, 2007 @ 16:31:52

    great list of quotes. I love the Helen Keller one the best.

    happy thrusday, Amy!

    Reply

  9. carrie211
    May 24, 2007 @ 17:24:02

    Those are all great quotes! I especially love #3 and #6.
    Have a great day!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  10. Susan Helene Gottfried
    May 24, 2007 @ 18:08:53

    Awesome list! I used to have a bunch of them on my fridge, but then we got a stainless steel front and now they’re in a pile on my dining room table. *sigh*

    Glad to see you drop by West of Mars. Happy TT!

    Reply

  11. Techsplorer
    May 24, 2007 @ 18:33:24

    Thanks for visiting my TT.

    You know I love quotes from visiting my blog (hey, movie lines qualify, right) and you have some great ones.

    Reply

  12. Susan
    May 24, 2007 @ 20:51:23

    Great quotes! Have a great holiday weekend

    Reply

  13. Penny
    May 25, 2007 @ 00:43:20

    I love quotes as well. Number two is one of my favorites! I think eight was our senior class motto as well. I know our motto is on our graduation announcements, but I haven’t read it for YEARS! 🙂

    Happy TTing!

    Reply

  14. Suzanne
    May 29, 2007 @ 00:54:23

    Great list. I’m a quote gal myself, can’t tell you who said any of them but I like them.

    my fav: It doesn’t matter if we know why, if matters if we know HIM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

