Thursday Thirteen

Thirteen things I’ve learned while selling my home:

1.  I much prefer the buying to the selling process.

2. I can seriously live with a lot fewer things.

3. My house looks really great this clean.

4. When you are selling the cleaning never ends.

5. Pine Sol Magic Eraser is a God send.  I am so serious.

6. The smell of Pine Sol is very strong.

7. My dog sheds too much.

8. My dog does not like to be put in the garage while I clean. 🙂

9. You really need to be patient.

10. You need to be ready at a moment’s notice.

11. Buying/selling is seriously expensive.

12. I would really not like to do this again for a long time.

13. Soap scum is really hard to get off around the faucets.   Any suggestions?

If you would like to be a part of Thursday Thirteen, go here!

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer of Dog.Yarn.Knit.
    May 17, 2007 @ 16:26:29

    Pine Sol can get strong! My mom tried to track down the managent of a Ruby Tuesday the other day to tell them she almost passed out in the restroom.

    I grew up in Louisville, and while I could name you a list of Derby winners, I have never been to the Derby. However, next weekend I’ll attend my 5th Indy 500. That seems backwards.

    Reply

  2. Penny
    May 17, 2007 @ 16:27:07

    Tell me all about dogs shedding! The vacuuming & sweeping never end with our two. Even in the “non-shedding” season.

    As for the soap scum around the faucets, I have had luck with setting a wet wash cloth around the faucet for a few hours and then scrubbing with a toothbrush. I make a paste with whatever type of sink cleanser I am using at the time. Hope you find a solution that works for you!

    Happy TTing!

    Reply

  3. amy
    May 17, 2007 @ 16:30:02

    I hope we dont have to move for a while but I remember moving a lot when we were younger and the house had to be clean all the time

    Reply

  4. dawnae
    May 17, 2007 @ 17:26:40

    I absolutely hate hate moving. The last move we made we sold our house and land to a developer….so they were tearing our house down…didn’t have to clean or anything. My son had a really fun time tearing down a wall in the back yard too! Good luck hope everything goes well.

    Reply

  5. -Sunflower-
    May 17, 2007 @ 17:46:13

    Oh yes, been there done that…. ummm, 5 times now! Ugh and double ugh! Being ready for “lookers” at any given moment that’s the worst part I think! Lime-away will likely remove your soap scum, but be very sure to ventilate the room, it’s STRONG stuff!! I wear a mask when I use it, which thankfully isn’t often. I hope it all goes well for you and you have a wonderful weekend. -Susan

    Reply

  6. Mike
    May 17, 2007 @ 18:43:40

    I remember when my wife and I were selling our condo. I was cleaning up the mess the minute it was made. Thank God when we were selling when the market was crazy with buyers. I only had to clean up for a week or two.

    🙂

    Mike
    http://somethingaboutparenting.typepad.com/

    Reply

  7. Elizabeth
    May 17, 2007 @ 18:47:28

    You need to write more about this, because I am just starting this procedure myself, and I can use all the insight I can get!
    We had our realtor friend come, and discreetly say that we need to unclutter (and I thought the house looked pretty nice) AHHH!
    How long has your house been up for sale? I’m just curious- please give me any words of advice/wisdom you can think of! 🙂

    Reply

  8. ~♥♥~ Lisa ~♥♥~
    May 17, 2007 @ 19:39:17

    Good~Afternoon Amy, I just wanted to
    come by and say Hello to you. I truly hope you
    had a Blessed Mothers Day. I love your new site
    that you have created over here. It is very nice.
    I can’t stand the soap scum left behind
    and have troubles scrubbing it all away….LOL But
    I do like to use a clorox mixed with water or even
    sometimes alcohol.. Works for me the smell is not
    so great but the cleanup is worth the smell. LOL
    I will stop over again soon to check on you. I hope
    you take great care of your self.
    Hugs ~Lisa

    Reply

  9. ~♥♥~ Lisa ~♥♥~
    May 17, 2007 @ 19:40:43

    Just stopping by to say Hello…..
    I hope you had a truly Blessed Mothers Day
    Hugs ~Lisa

    Reply

  10. Chris
    May 17, 2007 @ 20:11:53

    Selling is awful! Buying is so much easier. Good luck. My TT is here http://emeraldcityguy.wordpress.com/2007/05/17/thirteen-books-ive-recently-read/

    Reply

  11. Carole
    May 17, 2007 @ 21:20:23

    Oh…I LOVE those magic eraser things. I don’t even know how the world did without them for so long!!!
    ~Carole

    Reply

  12. Elaine
    May 17, 2007 @ 22:23:13

    I so empathize with you. We live in Michigan where the economy is horrible due to the automotive industry. Houses are on the market for years. I HATE selling a house! Loved your 13 🙂

    Reply

  13. Amy Ruttan
    May 18, 2007 @ 00:16:56

    Too funny. I like buying rather than selling it seems so much easier!

    Great list, happy TT and thanks for dropping by mine.

    Reply

  14. Gattina
    May 18, 2007 @ 03:32:07

    I agree selling is awful, I had to do this once when my father died and I had to sell his house in Germany ! That was even worse, because I didn’t know all the laws and paperwork to do, a nightmare !

    Reply

  15. Adventures In Babywearing
    May 18, 2007 @ 03:53:19

    Wow- you make me glad I’m not selling anytime soon!

    P.S.
    Be sure to enter my really awesome giveaway going on from Mason & Matisse- you could win $120 in Skip Hop gear!

    Steph

    Reply

  16. snpnmnmi
    May 18, 2007 @ 13:23:10

    I got a referral from your site, so I took it as an opportunity to check in on you! Try an automotive degreaser… it might seem extreme, but soap scum is just a lot of body oil with soap in it.
    Don’t stress too much on the house sell. But of course, I’m not in that boat right now (yes, my husband finally told me we will be in this house a while longer).
    Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  17. Christine
    May 18, 2007 @ 16:29:05

    There is no better product than a Magic Eraser. I haven’t seen the Pine sol ones, so I’ll look for it. I like Lemon scented PineSol. When we moved into our house almost 8 years ago, we were thinking about moving within the first couple of years, but have put so much work into our house, that and the fact we don’t want to move again either.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

