Graham Cracker Dust

On Friday, on my way into the MOPS meeting, I first of all dropped the peanut off in Moppets and then went back to my car to get the food.  On my way, I looked down at my shirt and noticed graham cracker all over it.  I tried brushing it off but apparently it had come off the peanut’s mouth and was all wet and sticky in my shirt.  At first, I was frustrated, as I thought, Oh my gosh, here we go again.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have a clean shirt just once!

Then, I suddenly started thinking about how one day there would be no more graham cracker crumbs.  No more peanut butter on my walls and grape stains in my carpet and I got so sad.  I’m crying even as I write this.  For, I will miss my baby being a baby.  I know it’s premature for me to be saying this, but I love that she’s a little girl.  She is with me all the time, I know her inside out.  She cries out, “Mommy!” when she’s upset and wants me to hold her before bed.   I love these things and this life.  It will be so hard for me as I let her go throughout her life.  When she wants to talk to her friends instead of me, when she gets her first boyfriend and goes away to school.  I will miss her terribly.  So today, I am just going to enjoy my baby being a baby. 

I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    May 14, 2007 @ 18:54:04

    Amy,

    What a great post today! They grow so fast don’t they? These past few weeks we have been reflecting on Parker and how amazingly fast this past year went. Where does all the time go? Our littles one don’t stay little for long and we should soak up each of those baby moments as much as we can.

    I hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day as you are a wonderful mother to peanut! I am proud to call you my friend!

    Love,
    Jes

    Reply

  2. C arole
    May 14, 2007 @ 20:22:03

    Amy,
    Enjoy the peanut…it does go by too quick. Hoping you had an awesome Mother’s Day.
    ~Carole

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    May 15, 2007 @ 00:35:18

    So true! Lately it seems that I am always picking on the kids for silly things. You are right that I need to stop and just be thankful for my two angels and realize that they won’t be around forever so I really must treasure this short time we have together. Thanks for making me be thankful today!!
    Mel

    Reply

  4. Amanda
    May 15, 2007 @ 00:36:26

    isn’t this just too true…we wish away the very things that will be longing to have once again! cherish each and every moment!

    Reply

  5. Andrea
    May 15, 2007 @ 02:14:24

    This is so true! Reminds me of the book “Let Me Hold You Longer” by Karen Kingsbury. Good stuff!

    Reply

  6. Pauline
    May 15, 2007 @ 02:24:17

    Hi Amy, yes darling enjoy your peanut when she is young, there is enough time to worry about later. Thanks for your comments, you are a sweetheart,and you are a dear to me. God bless you and you and your peanut and your hubby, luv, Pauline

    Reply

  7. nspiredbyfaith
    May 15, 2007 @ 04:56:23

    Amen! I feel the same way, and try to enjoy each moment with my baby. I can’t believe he’s been with me for almost a year already! Time flies!

    Reply

  8. Christine
    May 15, 2007 @ 05:38:46

    Amy, that is so sweet and very true. They do grow fast. I was just thinking this about Marissa, being 13, she’s spending more time with her friends, and soon she’ll be working, and it all seems like time just flew by. Enjoy every moment with Peanut.

    Hope you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!

    Reply

  9. Rach (Heart of Rachel)
    May 15, 2007 @ 08:55:16

    Hi Amy. Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day. Thanks for visiting and reading about mine.

    I try to cherish every moment I have while my son is young. I know a time will come when he would rather hang out with his buddies. But for now, I’m his favorite playmate. 🙂

    Reply

  10. carrie211
    May 15, 2007 @ 11:08:26

    What a sweet post, it brought tears to my eyes! It’s funny how God just smacks us in the head with a dose of perspective now and then, isn’t it?

    Hope you’re having a good week!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  11. Suzanne
    May 15, 2007 @ 11:13:47

    Is this the truth? I was looking at the french doors in the kitchen that were completely covered in little messy handprints yesterday morning thinking why bother cleaning it when they come in and out 20 times a day and they all each time touch the glass so that’s 20 times in 20 times out 3 kids 2 hands each…ugh. Then when Allen got home last night they all went walking to give me a chance to finish dinner. The house was perfectly still and quiet I loved it. As I was working I looked up to see all those hand prints and it struck me like a piece of art. And someday I will have a spotless house, but for now I kinda enjoy their little hand smudges and the tiny shoes left in the floor and the hot wheels that poke you when you sit on the couch, because that means they are all still little, still here, still mine.

    Reply

  12. Chelle
    May 15, 2007 @ 16:08:16

    Boy does this sound familiar, and too share your sweet thoughts on the subject…

    Reply

  13. Lilla
    May 15, 2007 @ 19:26:33

    Amy, good to find another site where I can read your entertaining stories and thoughts about your life! You are really an interesting person, and of course, I LOVE your daugher!! So cute..

    Reply

  14. Greg
    May 15, 2007 @ 23:33:30

    I’m thankful for high-chair that caught a lot of what did not make it into my children’s mouths.

    You all be well and Happy (belated) Mother’s Day, Greg

    Reply

  15. gail
    May 16, 2007 @ 01:19:58

    Thank you so much for your well wishes, Amy. I am almost 100% now! So many prayers have sustained me and healed me.

    I am so happy to see that you are enjoying the precious moments with your little one. So many parents miss them. bless you, gail

    Reply

  16. Ladybug!
    May 16, 2007 @ 17:49:28

    No matter how old you are or how old she is, she’ll always be your baby girl. She just won’t fit as nicely in your lap. 😉 Trust me with this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

