Thursday Thirteen

In honor of Mother’s Day this week, I thought I would do my 13 on:

13 Good Things My Mother Has Given Me:

1. My nails

2. My nose.  Not that I like the size or shape, because I don’t, but I do like to smell. 🙂

3. My intellect

4. My sense of humor

5. She taught me to pray without ceasing

6. My need and love for God

7. My desire for a clean house

8. My ethics and desire to do right

9. My honesty

10. My bargain shopping abilities!

11. My love of music

12. A desire to give to those less fortunate

13. Life

If you would like to join in this meme, just go to www.thursdaythirteen.com!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rach (Heart of Rachel)
    May 10, 2007 @ 18:38:12

    It’s an endearing list which makes it a great tribute for your mom.

    Advance Happy Mother’s Day to you Amy!

    Reply

  2. Christine
    May 10, 2007 @ 18:52:57

    Those are all wonderful things your Mom gave you.
    She sounds like an amazing woman.
    Lovely tribute to your Mother.
    Happy Mother’s Day to you, and have a great Thursday!

    Reply

  3. Jessica The Rock Chick
    May 10, 2007 @ 19:06:43

    Being able to smell is a great thing indeed 🙂 My mom always said that laughter will get you through anything. She’s right. My sense of humor is one of the greatest things my mom gave to me, too.

    Wonderful list!!!! Your mom sounds like a fabulous person.

    Jessica The Rock Chick

    Reply

  4. Mark
    May 10, 2007 @ 19:32:58

    Sounds like you got a good deal 🙂

    Reply

  5. Pauline
    May 10, 2007 @ 19:57:19

    Hi Amy, thanks for dropping by and I just love this post of yours, it is so inspiring. Have a Happy Mother’s day dear and God bless you and yours, ~Hugs Pauline

    Reply

  6. Lori
    May 10, 2007 @ 20:51:18

    Mom’s are awesome!

    Reply

  7. Cindy Swanson
    May 10, 2007 @ 22:32:58

    Amy, what a wonderful list! Mothers are such a huge influence on daughters. I hope my daughter will feel this way about me someday. Thanks for stopping by my TT!

    Reply

  8. qtpies7
    May 11, 2007 @ 00:46:34

    Good stuff! Thats a nice way to honor your mom.

    Reply

  9. Penny
    May 11, 2007 @ 01:02:42

    Great topic!

    This is what I was planning to do, but ended up going with quotes on mothers and motherhood. I didn’t realize there were so many good ones out there. I could have gone on for days! 🙂

    Reply

  10. Amanda
    May 11, 2007 @ 01:55:12

    hmmm…perhaps i will have to make a list like this in honor of my dearest mama. isn’t it interesting to wonder what lilla will say she gets from you in another 20 or 30 some years!

    Reply

  11. ancsweetnsassygal
    May 11, 2007 @ 02:41:17

    What a lovely TT. I hope your mom can read it so she knows how much you appreciate her. Thanks for visiting my TT. Happy Thursday!

    Reply

  12. -Sunflower-
    May 11, 2007 @ 04:31:37

    Let’s see if this goes around the world for Mother’s Day!!
    Prettiest Moms! YOU ARE ‘HIT’!
    Prettiest Moms on my Friends list! Once you have been hit, you have To ‘hit’ pretty Moms. If you get ‘hit’ again, You will know you are REALLY pretty! So ‘hit’ pretty moms on your friends list to let them know they are pretty.
    Before I was a Mom I never tripped over toys or forgot words to a lullaby.
    I didn’t worry whether or not my plants were poisonous.
    I never thought about immunization.
    Before I was a Mom – I had never been puked on. Pooped on. Chewed on, Wet on.
    I had complete control of my mind and my thoughts.
    I slept all night.
    Before I was a Mom I never held down a screaming child so doctors could do tests. Or give shots.
    I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
    I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.
    I never sat up late hours at night watching a baby sleep.
    Before I was a Mom I never held a sleeping baby just because I didn’t
    Want to put them down.
    I never felt my heart break into a million pieces when I couldn’t stop the hurt.
    I never knew that something so small could affect my life so much.
    I never knew that I could love someone so much.
    I never knew I would love being a Mom.
    Before I was a Mom – I didn’t know the feeling of having my heart outside my body.
    I didn’t know how special it could feel to feed a hungry baby.
    I didn’t know that bond between a mother and her child.
    I didn’t know that something so small could make me feel so important and happy.
    Before I was a Mom – I had never gotten up in the middle of the night every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay.
    I had never known the warmth, the joy, the love, the heartache, the wonderment or the satisfaction of being a Mom.
    I didn’t know I was capable of feeling so much, before I was a Mom.
    Send this to someone who you think is a special Mom. I just did! This says it all! I also leave you this with love:
    Enjoy your special day! ~~Hugs~~

    Reply

  13. Suzanne
    May 11, 2007 @ 13:18:38

    “And her children rise up and call her blessed.” I am sure she is so proud of you and so filled with joy by the woman you have become.

    Reply

  14. Adventures In Babywearing
    May 11, 2007 @ 13:59:15

    What a wonderful list and tribute to your mom!!

    Steph

    Reply

  15. Lady G~
    May 11, 2007 @ 19:33:49

    What a wonderful tribute to your mom. Sometimes mom’s don’t realize just how much of an influence they are in other’s lives. We are so blessed to be moms. :o)

    Reply

  16. nspiredbyfaith
    May 13, 2007 @ 06:14:41

    What a sweet tribute to your Mom. Happy Mother’s Day to both of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

