A few changes

I’ve decided, due to a might bit of paranoia on my part, that I’m not going to use our names anymore on the blog.  I was watching an episode of Cold Case tonight and it showed this stalker that someone met on the internet and it freaked me out.  I’ve actually thought that not using identifying info before was a good idea but I was just too lazy to change things.  I am in the process of converting all my posts now.  I think a little bit of anonymity is not the worst idea.  Hey, I used to work for a mental health organization, if anyone knows the crazies, it’s definitely me! 🙂

 So, from here on out, my hubby will be referred to as Mr. Right.

My daughter will be referred to as the peanut.

And then, of course, there’s the bad dog.  Who, I will note, is snoring at my feet as I type.

Since my name is in the blog title I’ll let you all have that one! 🙂

Take care all, and be wise, it’s a mad world!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    May 07, 2007 @ 04:47:54

    Good idea! Although I am way too lazy to change mine but I think it’s definitely a smart thing to do. You never know what people will do with the limited amount of information you give them.

    Anyway, hope you are doing well! Love all the pictures of Peanut. (Our nickname for Parker as well) I am just catching up on everyone’s blog as I have been somewhat MIA with P’s birthday and all.

    Love ya,
    Jes

    Reply

  2. Christine
    May 07, 2007 @ 06:24:34

    I’m like Jessica, I’ve been too lazy. There was one time, where in WordPress, I took off Katelyn’s tag for a category, and that’s one reason why I stopped my 365 blog.After reading your post, I might just delete it, because there was a p*rn site run by a young girl named Katelyn. I agree, even limited info, would lead people you don’t want to find you. Better safe than sorry.

    Reply

  3. snpnmnmi
    May 07, 2007 @ 13:25:22

    I am not the paranoid type. But then again, I’ve never had to live through any real atrocities against me or mine. My son was the one (after my dear Heart had mentioned to me how stupid I was being… yes, they can be *real sweet*) who convinced me to delete any reference to their real names. Cause, if it bugs him, then I’ll do it, ya know? I guess I’ve just always believed that if they want you, they’re going to get you, which doesn’t really speak to all of the lazy weirdos out there, which are probably the majority. My first thing would be to remove the map, though. 😉
    I love the pic you used for “Get Real”. Absolutely beautiful! Good luck with the move. We haven’t made ANY progress towards finishing our remodeling projects and putting this house on the market.

    Reply

  4. Renee
    May 07, 2007 @ 16:41:38

    So Amy dear…did you really post this at 3:17 this morning? What in the world were you doing out of bed? Silly girl!

    Reply

  5. Elizabeth
    May 07, 2007 @ 17:06:45

    I’ll do my very best to keep from using your “real” names- I am just glad I started reading before you changed things- because now your family is “real” to me 🙂 I understand your concern though, and you are not alone- there are many people out there that agree with you!

    What you are writing about, is the reason I refrain from posting “naked” photos of my sweet little boy. Many people think it is okay to post cute bare bottom photos of little ones, but I don’t personally feel comfortable with it. If I post photos of him, I try to be discreet because I will not subject my son to just anyone’s eyes!!!

    It’s sad that it is becoming this way, but it is better to be safe!!! 🙂

    Reply

  6. carrie211
    May 07, 2007 @ 17:23:25

    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. I have been very careful on my blog to just not mention where I live. But I’m sure if someone reeeeeally wanted to find out, then they could.

    Sorry to hear about the birds. Everyone has something that freaks them out like that.

    Have a great Monday!
    God bless 🙂

    Reply

  7. Amanda
    May 07, 2007 @ 19:19:09

    i agree that anonymity is good. i try not to be too specific with where i live, etc…but i’m sure someone could easily pick up where it is! and seriously…did you post this at 3:17…girl, the only people up at that hour should be pregnant me going to the bathroom for hte 5th time!

    Reply

  8. Pauline
    May 08, 2007 @ 01:00:48

    Hi Amy, I think it’s a super idea. There are a lot of wackos out there. I for once also watch cold case, it’s one of my favorite shows. I might change my name to what I wonder, I will think about it tomorrow. lol. God bless you Amy, and yours, luv, Pauline Have a nice week!

    Reply

  9. Rach (Heart of Rachel)
    May 08, 2007 @ 13:04:57

    Hi Amy. I understand your concern. There are indeed some weird people out there who seem determined to cause havoc to innocent people. It’s always good to be more careful.

    Reply

  10. Suzanne
    May 08, 2007 @ 13:35:25

    Just place an old pair of work boots, a Guns and Ammo magazine and a note on your back door that reads, “We don’t shoot to kill, we shoot to eat and that includes any intruders!”.

    Reply

  11. Carole
    May 08, 2007 @ 15:54:02

    That is a good idea. I’ve thought about it from time to time…but then the laziness kicks in. lol
    ~Carole

    Reply

  12. Amanda
    May 08, 2007 @ 19:03:33

    Hmmm…I could have sworn I commented on this yesterday…but apparently not. Anyway…I suppose since I know your full name and even your phone number I could stalk you if I wanted! Just kidding! Hope you and Lilla are enjoying the sun!

    Reply

  13. meg
    May 08, 2007 @ 23:32:04

    Please don’t feel you have to justify your decision- we each have our own comfort level of exposure & of course I’ll honor yours. My only caution is to not let fear take a foothold in your mind- that is the enemy’s weapon to keep us in bondage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

